WTF Taegeuk  Kup Grade Poomsae

This is a way of truly understanding and practising the martial art. The body and mind can work together in striving for perfection of technique which can never be achieved.

Poomsae is a set of pre arranged movements designed to strive for this perfection while developing the body and mind without thinking and all poomsae must be practised with this in mind. A series of defending and attacking movements performed against an imaginary opponent make up a poomsae

Different associations practise different poomsae however the majority of clubs practise Tae Geuk and Dan Grade Poomsae.

Taegeuk Poomsae is practised to achieve kup grade belts and it is important to remember that when learning the next pattern of movements the ones that have gone before are not forgotten.

Ideally it is recommended that when all the movements of the Taegeuk poomsae are learnt, they are practised one after the other without stopping, then the student will truly understand the first steps of poomsae.

Dan Grade Poomsae must be practised in exactly the same way while understanding the meaning of the movements and demonstrating them individually with maximum power, technique, focus and relaxed movement, this will be achieved through breathing and concentration and years of practise, all of which are essential skills for a Taekwondo student.

Remember Taekwondo is nothing without poomsae.

TAEGEUK                The origin of all universal things

TAE                            Bigness

GEUK                        Eternity

Taegeuk represents the most profound oriental philosophy, from which Oriental philosophical views on the world, cosmos and life are derived. Taegeuk has no form, no beginning, no ending, yet everything comes from Taegeuk. It is something that contains the essence of everything.


Each of the eight Taegeuk forms represents an ancient trigram and derives meaning from an ancient Chinese manuscript called the “Jooyeok” in Korean, better known to us as the “I Ching” (or “Book of Changes”).

IL JANG                     18 movements        Heaven & Light

EE JANG                   18 movements        Joyfulness

SAM JANG               20 movements        Fire & Sun

SAH JANG                20 movements        Thunder

OH JANG                  20 movements        Wind

YUK JANG               23 movements        Water

CHIL JANG               25 movements        Mountain

PAL JANG                24 movements        Earth